Knights News
Junior Adam Leibovitz won the men's kilometer pursuit and the men's four-kilometer pursuit on Thursday.
Junior Adam Leibovitz won the men's kilometer pursuit and the men's four-kilometer pursuit on Thursday.
Cycling - Fri, Sep. 24, 2010
Share |
Release courtesy of USA Cycling
Indianapolis, Ind. (September 23, 2010) - Host school Marian University showed their strength on opening day of the 2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships, taking the early lead with two national titles and seven additional podium finishes.
During the morning session, Marian University rider Adam Leibovitz posted a time of 4:41.97 to edge teammate and defending champ David Williams by six seconds for the Stars-and-Stripes jersey in the men's 4-kilometer pursuit. Oscar Clark (Georgia State) rode to the bronze medal in the first competition of the three-day event while Michael Garrett (MIT) and Charles Cassin (University of Colorado) rounded out the podium in fourth and fifth.
Leibovitz continued to impress as the evening session rolled around, taking the win again, this time posting a 1:07.137 in the men's kilometer time trial. Daniel Sullivan (Kutztown University) had the time to beat for a while until Leibovitz set the winning time. With a 1:07.450, he rode to the silver medal. Clocking the bronze medal time was Eric Young (Indiana University) while Marian riders David Williams and Colton Barrett gave their school a second and third place on the kilo podium with the fourth- and fifth-fastest times.
On the women's side of racing, Rachel Warner (Lees-McRae) posted a 4:02.852 over three kilometers to open up her national championship experience with a Stars-and-Stripes jersey in the women's individual pursuit. She beat out Marian's freshman standout Kaitlin Antonneau (Marian University) who covered the distance with a time of 4:09.376. Mandy Marquardt (Penn State) grabbed the bronze medal while Jennifer Purcell (Midwestern State) was fourth and Jacqueline Kurth (Marian University) rounded out the top five.
Mardquardt improved upon her bronze medal performance from the morning session when she clocked a 38.771 to take the win in the women's 500-meter time trial. Marian senior Sierra Siebenlist covered the 500 meters in 39.286 to earn the silver, barely missing the top of the podium. Autumn Wentworth (Georgia State) was third while Melissa Erickson (Fort Lewis College) and Marian rider Kaitlin Antonneau were fourth and fifth.
Action continues on Friday at the Major Taylor Velodrome with the men's sprint, women's team pursuit, co-ed team sprint, women's points race. Stay tuned to for coverage of all the action.
For more information, including a race schedule, visit the event's website by clicking here.
Click here for complete results from the event.
A photo gallery for the event will be available starting Friday, Sept. 24.
Special thanks to Larry Martin for contributing to this report.
2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships
Major Taylor Velodrome - Indianapolis, Ind.
September 23-25, 2010
Women's 3-kilometer pursuit
1. Rachel Warner (Lees-McRae)
2. Kaitlin Antonneau (Marian University)
3. Mandy Marquardt (Penn State)
4. Jennifer Purcell (Midwestern State)
5. Jacqueline Kurth (Marian University)
Men's 4-kilometer pursuit
1. Adam Leibovitz (Marian University)
2. David Williams (Marian University)
3. Oscar Clark (Georgia State)
4. Michael Garrett (MIT)
5. Charles Cassin (University of Colorado)
Men's Kilometer Time Trial
1. Adam Leibovitz (Marian University)
2. Daniel Sullivan (Kutztown University)
3. Eric Young (Indiana University)
4. David Williams (Marian University)
5. Colton Barrett (Marian University)
Women's 500-meter time trial
1. Mandy Marquardt (Penn State)
2. Sierra Siebenlist (Marian University)
3. Autumn Wentworth (Georgia State)
4. Melissa Erickson (Fort Lewis College)
4. Kaitlin Antonneau (Marian University)

About USA Cycling
Recognized by the United States Olympic Committee and the Union Cycliste Internationale, USA Cycling is the official governing body for all disciplines of competitive cycling in the United States, including road, track, mountain bike, BMX and cyclo-cross. As a membership-based organization, USA Cycling comprises 66,500+ licensees; 2,200 clubs and teams; and 34 local associations. The national governing body sanctions 2,650 competitive and non-competitive events throughout the U.S. each year and is responsible for the identification, development, and support of American cyclists. To learn more about USA Cycling, visit