Knights News
News Photo
Cycling - Mon, Sep. 11, 2017
Share |

Head Coach Dean Peterson announced the Marian University Cycling Team's roster for USA Cycling's 2017 Collegiate Track National Championships this weekend, and a strong squad will take to the Major Taylor Velodrome this week to defend the team's title on home turf.

The team is set to compete for their 20th team national championship on the track and would earn their 12th straight title in the discipline with a win at home. Competition begins Thursday, September 14 and continues through Saturday (September 16) with morning and evening race sessions each day.

Marian riders will compete against other collegiate cyclists from all over the nation in a variety of individual and team events, including the team pursuit (men and women) and the collegiate sprint, a co-ed event that serves as the final competition across the three-day championship.

Senior Zachary Carlson leads the men's team, fresh off his gold medal in the men's Madison at the Pan-American Track Championships. While the Madison is not a collegiate national event, Carlson is the defending champion in the men's 4km individual pursuit as well as the 1km individual time trial, and he will also compete on the men's team pursuit and with the collegiate sprint team.

Junior Jordan Marhanka also returns for the Knights, looking to add yet another collegiate national championship. He is the reigning champion in both the points and scratch races, having taken home the stars-and-bars jersey in those events both of the last two years. Marhanka will also ride the men's team pursuit and the collegiate sprint, along with senior Sam Winters. Junior Ian McShane will also ride the men's team pursuit.

The women's team features junior Hannah McDade racing in the collegiate sprint, scratch race, match sprints, and the 500m individual time trial, where she finished third last year.

Freshman Alijah Beatty will also compete in several events for the Knights, including the scratch race, an event in which she finished eighth at the Junior World Championships just two weeks ago in Italy. Beatty will ride the women's team pursuit along with junior Laurel Rathbun, graduate student Madison Kelly, and sophomore Marta Morris.

"While it's an advantage to be competing at home, we have taken all of the same steps in our preparation to be as sharp as possible," said Coach Peterson. "We anticipate several teams coming in with solid squads and we know we will have to maximize every opportunity to be at our best."

Cheer on the Cycling Knights as they race at the Major Taylor Velodrome this Thursday through Saturday. A full event schedule can be found at the event webpage: Results, updates, and media from the event will be on Twitter @MarianCycling and @MUKnights. Saturday evening's session, including podium ceremonies, will be broadcast online via



GABBY ARNOLD – Senior – Bermuda

LAUREL RATHBUN – Junior – Colorado

MADISON KELLY – Graduate Studies – Florida

HANNAH MCDADE – Junior – Oregon

MARTA MORRIS – Sophomore – Colorado

RACHEL CROSS – Sophomore – California

ASHLEY ZOERNER – Freshman – Colorado

ALIJAH BEATTY – Freshman – Iowa

KENNEDY ADAMS – Freshman – Ohio

BIRGIT MORRIS – Freshman – Colorado


ZACHARY CARLSON – Senior – Texas

SAM WINTERS – Senior – Virginia

KYLE STEWART – Senior – Ohio

JORDAN MARHANKA – Junior – South Carolina

IAN MCSHANE – Junior - Kentucky

DANIEL NESBITT – Junior – Canada

PETER BOCK – Sophomore – Wisconsin

CADE BICKMORE – Sophomore – Colorado

HUGO SCALA – Sophomore – Texas

HAYDEN STRONG – Freshman – New Zealand