Knights News
The Marian Cycling MTB Squad capped conference racing with a Regional Championship this weekend. Photo: Patrick Gordon.
The Marian Cycling MTB Squad capped conference racing with a Regional Championship this weekend. Photo: Patrick Gordon.
Cycling - Mon, Oct. 9, 2017
Share |

The Marian University Cycling Team wrapped up the conference mountain bike season this past weekend by hosting the Regional Championships at the Indy Cycloplex and Southwestway Park and brought home another conference title.

The team scored 1573 points over five race weekends in the last two months to secure the Varsity Team Conference Championship over second-place Lindenwood University.  The Knights also won nearly every category-A event throughout the regional championship weekend, with senior Ben Schmutte, junior Emma Swartz, junior Shannon Taylor, sophomore Jonnie Vance, sophomore Bailee Enlow, and freshman Birgit Morris all bringing home conference titles.

With the conference season now complete, Head Coach Dean Peterson announced the roster of student-athletes who will represent Marian University at USA Cycling's Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championship next week in Missoula, Montana. 

The team travels to MTB Nationals looking to win the program's first-ever team National Championship in the mountain bike discipline. With 38 total team titles across track, cyclocross, BMX, and road racing, the team has stood on the podium at MTB Nationals, but never on the top step. Marian finished third in 2016 and 2015, and Peterson believes this year's team has the potential to bring home a mountain bike title.

"This group of riders has several seniors and other leaders who have been a part of developing our mountain bike program for several years, and we have the quality and depth of a team that can go and compete for the win," Peterson reflected. "Anything can happen at a national event, but our focus is to lead with our physical and mental preparedness and ride to our best possible finishes."

Schmutte will lead the men's endurance crew after winning the individual omnium (overall best rider classification) during the conference season, and hope to build on his fifth place finish in the Individual Omnium at MTB Nationals last season. Junior Anders Nystrom will also be vying for an omnium podium spot by racing in a mixture of endurance and gravity events.  

Junior Katherine Santos also won the individual omnium on the women's side for the conference race season, and she will take to the courses at Nationals for the endurance races as well as the downhill event. Senior Angelina Palermo will be looking to repeat her Downhill National Championship as well as racing in the dual slalom and short track events.  



Shay Glynn – Senior – California

Gabby Arnold – Senior – Bermuda

Angelina Palermo – Senior - Pennsylvania

Emma Swartz – Junior - Wisconsin

Katherine Santos – Junior - Kentucky

Marta Morris – Sophomore - Colorado

Bailee Enlow – Sophomore – North Dakota Freshman - Colorado

Jamie Windholz – Sophomore - Missouri

Izzy Penglase – Sophomore - Australia

Birgit Morris - Freshman - Colorado


Zachary Deitch – Senior - Indiana

Zachary Carlson – Senior - Texas

Benjamin Schmutte – Senior - Indiana

Anders Nystrom – Senior - Idaho

Luke Roarty – Junior - Maryland

Shannon Taylor – Junior - Indiana

Ian McShane – Junior – Kentucky

Jonnie Vance – Junior - Maryland

Bryce Stroud – Sophomore – Australia

Caleb Swartz – Freshman - Wisconsin