2013-14 Cycling
Dean Peterson Image
Dean Peterson

[email protected] 317.955.6340

Peterson is entering his eighth season at the helm of the Marian University cycling program. He is also an instructor in the school of education. In 2011, he began his work as director at the Indy Cycloplex and leads a small staff and community volunteers dedicated to advancing the mission of cycling in central Indiana.

Peterson brings 30 years of bicycle racing experience and 24 years of teaching experience to Marian University and the Indy Cycloplex. He has coached, trained, or raced in Europe, Africa, and Cuba. He is a USA Cycling Level 3 coach and is a USA Cycling Category 1 cyclist.

In his first seven seasons at the helm of the Knights cycling team, Peterson guided the Knights to seven straight USA Cycling Division I collegiate track cycling national championships, four straight collegiate road championships, back-to-back cyclo-cross national championships and the program's first-ever BMX national title. He is the first Marian University head cycling coach to win national championships in road, cyclo-cross and BMX competition. The 2012-13 season culminated with the Knights winning the program's first-ever USA Cycling Collegiate Team Omnium overall national title, which is awarded to the program that earns the highest finishes in each of the five disciplines throughout the season. Peterson led MU to the track title, a third-place finish at the mountain bike national championships, the cyclo-cross title, the BMX title and the road championship to secure the first-ever overall team omnium title for the program.

After coming to MU and maintaining the success on the track, Peterson first built a dynasty on the road. He has said the road competition is the "premier" event that most people know the most about. After establishing the program on the road, Peterson switched to the off-road disciplines and had immediate success. Two straight cyclo-cross titles and, now, in its first year of competition, a BMX championship. His strategy of developing riders in each of the disciplines to develop a team that can compete in each of the disciplines has paid immediate dividends. He is currently overseeing the development of a BMX track at the Indy Cycloplex, which Marian University oversees in conjunction with Indy Parks and Recreation.

He also oversaw the development of the Paul J. Norman Cycling Center in 2007. Peterson developed the now-popular indoor training series known as PowerBooster, which is housed at the cycling center. He is known in cycling circles in Indianapolis and has cultivated sponsor relationships that culminated in the development of the center, the team and the Indy Cycloplex.

Peterson earned his bachelor of science degree from Purdue University in 1988 and his master of science degree from Butler University in 1997.

He resides in Indianapolis with his wife and their two children.


2013-14 Cycling Roster
Roster for 2013-14 Cycling Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.HometownPrevious School
Kaitlin AntonneauSRT/X/R Racine, Wis.Horlick
Colton BarrettJRT/R St. Paul, Minn.Bluesky Charter
Eric BeckerFR Indianapolis, Ind.North Central
Luke BeemerFR Brownsburg, Ind.Brownsburg
Zach BenderFR Glen Rock, N.J.Glen Rock (Lees-McRae)
Jason BlodgettSOM/X/BMX/R Berlin Heights, OhioEdison
Kristen BobFR Plano, TexasPlano East
Alex CannonSRX/R Elwood, Ind.Elwood
Zach CarlsonFR Plano, TexasLiberty
Jos ChalmersSOT/X/R Indian Harbour Beach, Fla.Holy Trinity Episcopal
Amy CzerwonkaSOM/X/R Louisville, Ky.Assumption
Zach DeitchFR Greenwood, Ind.Center Grove
Drew DillmanSOT/M/X/R Fairdale, Ky.Pleasure Ridge
Allie DragooSRR/T/BMX Grand Rapids, Mich.East Grand Rapids
Emily ElbersSOT/X/R Syracuse, N.Y.Jamesville Dewitt
Elizabeth EngwisSRT/X/R Kenosha, Wis.Tremper
Vance FletcherSOT/X/R Chariton, IowaChariton
Zoe FrazierFR Suwanee, Ga.Collins Hill
Danny GerowSR Gross Pointe Farms, Mich.Gross Pointe South
Matthew GittingsJRT/X/R Reading, UKProspect
Shayona GlynnFR Norco, Calif.Lee V. Pollard
Patrick GordonFR Indianapolis, Ind.Bishop Chatard
Michael HaleyJRR Springfield, Ill.Sacred Heart-Griffin (Bradley)
Chase HinesJRM/BMX Summerville, S.C.Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Stephan HirschFR Billingheim, GermanyHeinrich-Heine-Gymnasium
Bryce HockingJRM/BMX Carlsbad, Calif.La Costa Canyon (CSU-San Marcos)
John Hoffman Jr.FR Berlin Heights, OhioEdison
Catherine HollibaughSOT/M/X/R Carmel, Ind.Midwest Academy
John HoopingarnerJRT/X/R Roseville, Mich.Fraser (Wayne State)
Josh JohnsonJRM/X/R Fort Wayne, Ind.Homeschool
Crystal KalogrisSRT/M/BMX Fort Wayne, Ind.North Side
C.J. KarasSOT/M/X/R Rochester Hills, Mich.Rochester Adams
John KelleyJRR Indianapolis, Ind.Cathedral
Aidan KesnerFR Boston, Mass.Gann Academy (LWC)
Conor KluparFRR/T Fall City, Wash.Fall City
Kaleb KochFR Glenview, Ill.Glenbrook South
Nate LabeckiSOM/X/BMX/R Milwaukee, Wis.St. Francis HS
Alek MinkisFR Brownsburg, Ind.Brownsburg
Riley MisselSOR/T Grand Haven, Mich.Grand Haven
Rudy PetersonFR Kalamazoo, Mich.Battle Creek Virtual
Justin PoseySOT/M/BMX Winston-Salem, N.C.Reagan
Coryn RiveraJRT/X/R Tustin, Calif.Pacific Coast
Nicholas SalupoSR Indianapolis, Ind.Lawrence North
Felicia StancilFR Lake Villa, Ill.Grayslake North
Ben SteinFR Boonton, N.J.Craig
Kyle StewartSO Wilmington, OhioXenia Christian
Harrison TheeSOT/X/R Indianapolis, Ind.Bishop Chatard
Stephanie TorresSRT/X/R East Elmhurst, N.Y.Bard High School Early College
Christopher WestSR Indianapolis, Ind.Southport
Tyler WhitfieldFR Rockford, Ill.Christian Life Schools
David YoheSRX/R Willoughby, OhioSouth
Dean Peterson - Head Coach - 8th season
Nate Keck - Assistant Coach - 2nd season
Jeff Hopkins - Assistant Coach - 6th season
Matt McKinney - Assistant Coach - 2nd season
Ryan Birk - Assistant Coach - 2nd season
Michael Kubancsek - Manager - 2nd season