2011-12 Cycling
Dean Peterson

[email protected]

Peterson has just concluded his sixth season at the helm of the Marian University cycling program. He is also an instructor in the school of education.

In 2011, he began his work as director at the Indy Cycloplex and leads a small staff and community volunteers dedicated to advancing the mission of cycling in central Indiana.

Peterson brings 29 years of bicycle racing experience and 23 years of teaching experience to Marian University and the Indy Cycloplex. He has coached, trained, or raced in Europe, Africa, and Cuba. He is a USA Cycling Level 3 coach and is a USA Cycling Category 1 cyclist.

In his first six seasons at the helm of the Knights Cycling team, Peterson guided the Knights to six straight USA Cycling Division I collegiate track cycling national championships, three straight collegiate road championships and a collegiate cyclo-cross championship. He was the first Marian University head cycling coach to win national championships n road and cyclo-cross competition.

Peterson has grown the Knights' success in off-road disciplines, and is now  building the Marian University BMX program in conjunction with the revitalization of the BMX track at the Cycloplex.

He also oversaw the development of the Paul J. Norman Cycling Center in 2007. He developed the now-popular indoor training series known as PowerBooster, housed at the cycling center. He is known in cycling circles in Indianapolis and has cultivated sponsor relationships that culminated in the development of the center, the team and the Cycloplex.

Peterson earned his bachelor of science degree from Purdue University in 1988 and his master of science degree from Butler University in 1997.

He resides in Indianapolis with his wife and their two children.

The Peterson File
6 collegiate track cycling national titles
3 collegiate road national titles
1 collegiate cyclo-cross national title
4 MWCCC road championships
2 MWCCC cyclo-cross championship
1 MWCCC track championship

2011-12 Cycling Roster
Roster for 2011-12 Cycling Team
#NameCl.Pos.Ht.HometownPrevious School
Kaitlin AntonneauSOT/R/M/X Racine, Wis.Horlick
Colton BarrettSOT/R St. Paul, Minn.
Taylor BrownSRT/R Fleetwood, Pa.Oley Valley
Rob BushSRT/R/X5-10Louisville, Ky.Highlands Latin
Alex CannonSOR 
Myles ChandlerSOR Indianapolis, Ind.Pike
Andrew DaltonFRM/R Fishers, Ind.Fishers
Peter DeucherSRR/X5-6Wakeman, OhioFirelands
Allie DragooJRT/R/M5-8Grand Rapids, Mich.East Grand Rapids
Elizabeth EngwisSOT/R5-6Kenosha, Wis.Tremper
Neal ForbesFRR Columbus, Ind.North
Danny GerowJRR Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.University of Michigan
Matthew GiddingsFRT/R Manchester, England
Lisha HeroldFRT/X/R Oakdale, Minn.North St. Paul
Jake HorvathFRM/R Carmel, Ind.Carmel
Mika JacksonSRR/T5-5Brownsburg, Ind.Brownsburg
Josh JohnsonFRM/X/R Fort Wayne, Ind.
John KelleyFRR Carmel, Ind.Carmel
Michael KubancsekJR Greenwood, Ind.Center Grove
Joe KukollaSR Indianapolis, Ind.Heritage Christian
Jackie KurthJR Palm City, FloridaMartin County
Adam LeibovitzSR Indianapolis, Ind.Lawrence Central
Weston LuzadderJR Carmel, Ind.Carmel
Alder MartzJRR/M/X Charlotte, N.C.
Zach McBrideSR Comstock, Mich.Comstock
Will MegerFR Eau Claire, Wis.
Sinead MillerSR South Park, Pa.South Park
Isaiah NewkirkSR Bloomington, Ind.South
Coryn RiveraFRT/X/R Marin, Calif.
Sam StoneJR North Freedom, Wis.Baraboo
Stephanie TorresFRT/R 
David YoheSOT/R Willoughby, OhioSouth
Dean Peterson - Head Coach - 6th season
David Williams - Assistant Coach - 2nd season
Jeff Hopkins - Assistant Coach - 4th season